6.2.2: Organizational structure of the University including governing body, administrative setup, and functions of various bodies, service rules, procedures, recruitment, promotional policies as well as grievance redressal mechanism. संस्थायां सर्वविधाः प्रबन्धनव्यवस्थासंरचनाः यथा प्रबन्धनसमितिः, प्रशासनव्यवस्था, विविधनिकायानां कार्याणि, सेवानियमाः, प्रक्रियाः, नियुक्तयः, पदोन्नतिनियमाः, परिदेवनानिवारणकार्यप्रणाल्यश्च उपलभ्यन्ते।

For the Comprehensive Development of Sanskrit Language

A self-governing institution was established for the holistic development and nationwide promotion of the Sanskrit language. When the Central Sanskrit University Act, 2020, was passed in the Lok Sabha, the institution became renowned as Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University.

- Chancellor: The President of India serves as the Visitor (Chancellor) of the University. The Chancellor oversees the progress and functioning of the University, appointing individuals for periodic review and assessment. The findings are conveyed to the Vice-Chancellor and Management Council for appropriate action.
- 2. Pro-Chancellor: A distinguished scholar appointed by the Government of India holds this position. Dr. Hari Gautam is the current Pro-Chancellor of the University. The selection is made by the Chancellor based on regulations.
- 3. Vice-Chancellor: A selection committee, formed by the Pro-Chancellor, prepares a list of eligible candidates for the Vice-Chancellor's position. From this list, the Chancellor appoints one individual as Vice-Chancellor. The Vice-Chancellor supervises the Registrar, Controller of Examinations, Finance Officer, Librarian, Department Heads, and other key officials.

Governing Bodies of the University

- 1. Court: The University operates with a focus on implementing the provisions of the Central Sanskrit University Act, 2020, ensuring adherence to statutory guidelines for the future establishment of legal frameworks. The Ministry of Education, Government of India, reviews the proposals under this provision.
- 2. Executive Council: As the principal executive body, the Council functions with clearly defined and delegated authority, ensuring clarity of institutional objectives. This Council forms the University's core administrative body.
- 3. Academic Council: This is the chief academic body that operates within the framework of the Act, regulations, and ordinances. It coordinates, inspects, and ensures academic excellence, particularly in teaching, training, examinations, and research programs.
- 4. Board of Studies: The Board of Studies provides guidelines for academic activities, ensuring compliance with academic governance in line with departmental requirements.
- 5. Finance Committee: With defined powers and roles, this committee oversees financial operations and resources. The Vice-Chancellor serves as its Chairperson, with external members and the Finance Officer as Secretary.

- 6. Planning and Monitoring Board: The Planning and Monitoring Board ensures strategic development and formulates plans for the growth of the University.
- 7. Anti-Harassment Committee: The University has constituted an Internal Complaints Committee in compliance with UGC guidelines to address grievances of teaching and non-teaching staff.
- 8. Internal Quality Assurance Cell: This cell monitors quality standards in academic and administrative activities, including research implementation and evaluation.

University Departments and Centres

1. School and Departments:

- School of Veda and Vedanga: Includes departments like Vedic Studies, Paurohitya, Dharma Shastra, Vyakaran, Jyotish and Vastu Shastra.
- School of Darshan: Covers departments such as Nyaya, Sankhya Yoga, Jain Philosophy, Mimamsa, and Vedanta Studies.
- School of Sahitya and Sanskriti: Comprises Sanskrit Sahitya, Puraan Itihaas, and Prakrit Studies.
- School of Modern Subjects: Includes Humanities, Modern Knowledge, Research, and Hindu Studies.
- School of Education: Focuses on Educational Sciences.

2. Administrative Departments:

- Administrative Division: Split into Academic, Administrative (I and II), and General Divisions.
- Academic Division: Oversees academic programs and activities.
- Accounts Division: Monitors financial transactions.
- Development Division: Frames annual policies and executes development programs.
- Examinations Division: Manages examinations and schedules for regular and distance-learning students.
- Construction Division: Handles all construction-related activities.

3. Central Units:

- Central Library
- Teaching-Learning Centre
- Women's Studies Centre
- Computer Centre
- Health Centre