About Us

About us

The Akhil Bharatiya Sanskrit Sahitya Sammelan established a Sanskrit University at Delhi on the auspicious day of Vijaya Dashmi on the 8th of October 1962 and appointed Dr.Mandan Mishra as the officer on-Special-Duty and the Director of the University. In accordance with the decision of the Sammelan, a separate Society under the name of Akhil Bharatiya Sanskrit University was established with the late Prime Minister Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri as its Founder President. The inspiration and guidance of Late Shri Shastriji had been the impetus for the development of this University. Shastriji in his capacity as the Prime Minister of India declared to develop this University as an International Institution.

After the death of Shastriji, the Late Prime Minister Smt. Indira Gandhi accepted the Presidentship of the University and declared on the 2nd October 1966 that the University would henceforth be known as Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University. On 1st April 1967, the University was taken over by the Government of India and on the 21st December 1970, it became a constituent of the Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan, a registered autonomous Society and was named as Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Kendriya Sanskrit University.

Impressed by its performance and the all-around developments, the Government of India, in March 1983 mooted a proposal to confer the status of Deemed to be University on this University along with the Kendriya Sanskrit University, Tirupati. Finally, after the necessary inspection and other formalities, the Government of India on the recommendations of the University Grants Commision granted the status of a Deemed to be University to the University in November 1987.

Prior to this, on the recommendation of the University Grants Commision, a Society, independent of the Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan was registered under the Chairmanship of the former Human & Resource Minister, Hon'ble Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao in the name of Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University on the 20th January 1987. In 1989 Dr.Mandan Mishra was appointed as the first Vice-Chancellor of the University.

After the formal transfer of the movable and immovable properties followed by the transfer of the teaching and non-teaching staff, the University became fully functional with effect from the 1st November 1991 as a Deemed to be University.


During the last thirty-eight years, the University has received the attention of great personalities, leaders, members of parliament, and legislative assemblies, industrialists and the general public as one of the leading institutions which stand out and out for the cause of Sanskrit literature and language. By organizing 320 functions, coupled with several publications in the newspapers and other means of communication, the University has reached the expectations of the people in establishing the glory of the Sanskrit language. This has resulted in creating a general awareness which encouraged many volunteers to come forward to work in this direction. It is indeed a great pleasure that being attracted by the achievements of the erstwhile University, our dynamic leader, the former Prime Minister Mrs. Indira Gandhi in her message hailed the contributions made by the University in the field of Research and Publications and also the role of University in the cultural awakening.

A special convocation of this Deemed to be University was organized on the 3rd of December,1993 at Rashtrapati Bhawan in which Honoris causa of the University was conferred on Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, the Hon'ble President of India. The first convocation of the University was held on February 15, 1994, in the premises of the University. In this occasion, the Hon'ble President Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma delivered his convocation address. The second, third, fourth, fifth and sixth convocations of the University were held on the 11th January 1996, 11th January 1999, 11th February 2000. 28th February 2001. The Sixth Convocation of the University was held on February 18, 2002. on the auspicious day of Vasanta Panchami and on this occasion, Prof. Hari Gautam, Chairman of the University Grants Commission delivered his convocation address respectively on 11th November 2003, the Seventh Convocation of the University was held. Prof. Ramaranjan Mukherjee former Chancellor of Rashtriya Sanskrit University, Tirupati delivered the convocation address on this occasion. After completing the tenure of ten years of his dedicated service, Prof. Vachaspati Upadhyaya, was appointed third time as the Vice-Chancellor of the University by the Govt. of India on the15th of November 2004 under whose able guidance this University has successfully been advancing well with courses especially suited to the national and the social needs of the country by fulfilling its aims and objectives.

working of the University was applauded by the Xth five year Plan Review Committee constituted by the U.G.C. which has appreciated its performance and progress in the following words:-

"The working of the university is in general commendable. The teaching faculty is academically sound and is actively engaged in imparting knowledge. The students also are actively participating in the processing of learning. Supporting theoretical knowledge with practical observations and experimentations with the use of observatory and similar other devices is one of the distinct features of education in this university. The publications of the university also represent the substantial research activity going on in the campus. Lack of space for conducting classes is one of the major problems faced by the teachers in this university. The academic block under construction can, however, solve the problem to some extent.